Sir Lloyd Dorfman CBE and David Gonski AC ©

Photo credit: Maja Baska

The UK/Australia Season is supported by a board of UK and Australian representatives called the Board of Patrons.

The Board of Patrons is chaired jointly by Sir Lloyd Dorfman CBE and David Gonski AC. It advises the UK/Australia Season on partnership opportunities and collaborative initiatives in the UK and Australia. Members include directors from the British Council, representation from the Australian High Commission to the UK and British High Commission to Australia, founding partners, business and arts leaders.

About our co-chairs

The Board of Patrons is co-chaired by a representative of each country. For the UK, this is Sir Lloyd Dorfman CBE, and for Australia, this is David Gonski AC.

  • Sir Lloyd Dorfman CBE
    Sir Lloyd Dorfman is founder of Travelex, the world's largest retailer of foreign exchange, Chairman of Doddle and The Office Group. He Chairs The Prince’s Trust, is a director of London Theatre Company and BAFTA, and is a trustee of the Royal Opera House, Royal Academy and JW3. He is major benefactor of the Dorfman Theatre at National Theatre and Dorfman Foyer at English National Ballet.
  • David Gonski AC
    David Gonski AC started his career as a lawyer at Herbert Smith Freehills before co-founding an investment bank. He is now one of Australia’s most respected business leaders and company directors. David has business experience in Australia and internationally and is involved in a broad range of organisations in the government and education sectors. He is a leading philanthropist and provides strong community leadership, particularly in relation to education and the Arts in Australia. 

Our Board of Patrons

  • Nick Allott OBE 
  • Georgina Black 
  • His Excellency the Honourable George Brandis QC 
  • Catherine Brenner 
  • Tom Dery AO
  • Peter Flavel 
  • Dr Peter Goode
  • Lord Glendonbrook
  • Sir Michael Hintze GCSG AM
  • Kathy Lette 
  • Michael Lynch CBE AO
  • Sam Meers AO
  • Simon Mordant AM
  • Bill Muirhead AM 
  • Allan Myers AC QC
  • Karen Napier 
  • Dick Porter 
  • Her Excellency Vicki Treadell CMG MVO  

Find out more