FameLab 2018 National Final Judges
FameLab 2018 judges (L-R): Former Chief Scientist of Western Australia Professor Lyn Beazley AO; ABC’s Science show host Robyn Williams; Director of the British Council in Australia Helen Salmon

The winners of the FameLab National Final are determined by a panel of judges. Our judges come from a range of disciplines and backgrounds including:

  • STEM (Science Technology Engineering and Mathematics) academics
  • Science Communications 
  • Media and Journalism

The judges for the FameLab 2018 National Final are:

  1. Lyn Beazley: Currently Lyn is the Sir Walter Murdoch Professor of Science at Murdoch University. As Chief Scientist of Western Australia from 2006 to 2013, Lyn advised the Western Australian Government on science, innovation and technology as well as fulfilling the role of Science Ambassador locally, nationally and internationally. In 2009, Lyn was awarded Officer of the Order of Australia and was amazed and delighted to be named the WA Australian of the Year for 2015. Lyn is proud to be Patron of the Friends of the WA Museum and Ambassador of the Museum, having been a Trustee from 1999-2006.  Especially Lyn is proud that the WA Museum is the host for Famelab, as without their backing we could not have introduced this great competition to Australia. 
  2. Robyn Williams: Robyn Williams has presented the Science Show on ABC Radio since 1975, was elected a Fellow of The Australian Academy of Science in 1993 and AM in 1988. He was a fellow of Green College Oxford and a visiting fellow at Balliol College. His last book was 'In love with Betty the crow' and his next book is 'Turmoil - Letters from the Brink'. He appeared in 'Monty Python, The Goodies, Dr Who' and was stand-in for Tom Jones for 4 months.
  3. Helen Salmon: Helen Salmon is Director of the British Council in Australia, with a 25 year career in theatre and public art in the U.K. and Australia. Helen is a Fellow of the Royal Society for the Encouragement of Arts, Manufacturers and Commerce. She has served as a Board Director of Playwriting Australia and Monkey Baa Theatre Company, and on the Council of the International Theatre Institute’s British Centre. In London she was on the Senior Management Team of the Royal Court, the world’s leading theatre for new writing, and the Director of Events and Communications at the Directors Guild of Great Britain.